Friday, June 30, 2017

Goals Quarterly Update #2

Quarterly Update #2

1) Take some time off from family planning and enjoy the family I’ve built.
Enjoy the wonderful kids (and hub!) I have.
Update 1-More or less. I have not really re-started my cycle (I had it once, when I had the stomach virus, but not since). I have mentioned trying again, again once or twice. Hub eventually suggested seeing a couples therapist.. so we’re pretty far apart in what we want additional kid wise:/
Update 2- I'm going to do this as of June, since I missed updating then. At that point, this was still a win. I FULLY enjoy the two kids I'm raising and trying not to focus on the one more I want. 

2) Read 12 books. Any books. Enjoy them.
I’ve read 2 and am starting a third:
The Whistler
Apprentice in Death
Don't You Cry (slightly behind)
The Good Girl
Big Little Lies
Startup: A Novel
A Drink Before the War (on track)

3) Run the June 5k in under 28 minutes. Still on here from 2 years ago 3 years ago.
I HAVE been running fairly consistently, with Hub still in school I can really only run Thurs-Sun, and I’m not really in the shape to run 4 days in a row. I aim for 3 runs in 7 days, but have been getting 3 runs in 8. Not too bad. I should be on week 11 of a 10K app, so this is in reach
I was close. I ran it in 34 minutes. I know that isn't THAT close, but it's the fastest I've ever run a 5k. I have signed up for a 10k in October. So I am being consistent with running. That's more important than speed.

4) Pay down 30,000 in debt and keep up with other money goals (college savings, retirement etc)- we’re doing Dave Ramsey-ish. Working successfully so far.
Yes! I got a nice bonus and we’ve been really good with budgeting so we’re more than ½ way to goal 
This was done, but then we booked a cruise for  September. That will be paid before we leave so we should be good for the year

5) Re-do the kitchen- at long last.
I REALLY hope this is this year, but I am waiting for a good price to sell some stock. All depends on the market.
We decided not to sell stock at the most recent opportunity. Will reassess next time. We don’t want to make the decision to sell and regret it. Clearly the kitchen is work-able- we’ve been in our home for 6 years.     
Once again considering selling stock and pulling the trigger on this project. To be determined.      

6) A few health goals: Lose 10 pounds, start yoga, keep up with vitamins, cut back on caffeine (down two 2 cups of tea and one other caffeinated item per day).
Big fail. I guess this needs to be my focus.
I did remember my vitamins though!
Working on it! I've been good with the gym, OK with the caffeine. 

7) Become involved in my community. How? TBD. 
This is still a question mark.. thinking about it though
I'm getting involved with stuff for kins. This is becoming my community involvement. 

Friday, June 16, 2017

Month Eight

Month Eight

Weight- ? no recent weights I'd guess she's 17-ish pounds

Diapers- Size 2 but needs a 3, finishing out the box!


MG is on the move! She started a crawling approximation! She gets on hands and knees and then pushes her toes into the ground. She can get some forward momentum. But mostly backward momentum!

She also can sit herself up from laying down And on May 17th she did this!
And now she does it all the time ;)

First flight! We went to California and had a blast!
We went on a real plane too

First time in the pool- she didn't like it at first but ended up loving it

We took both kids mini-golfing for the first time. MG figured out how to nurse in her carrier. Here we are when she was done, and one of kinsy because he's cute

Sleep- By the end of this month she was in her own bed until about 2AM, up for feeding, back in her bed in our room until 3:30. Some days I can settle her when she wakes up and get her back into the little bed. Othertimes no. Progress.

Clothes- Between a 3-6 and 6-9 months- can wear one but it's a little small and the other but it's a little big.  

Still sleeping in a Zippity-zip . This has become a necessity. She likes to pinch as she nurses she has done this since she was tiny, but now she's strong. The zippity-zip keeps her hands covered. 

EatingShe is still breastfeeding All. Night. Long. As well as once in the morning, when I get home from work and before bed on work days. I usually add 2 more feedings in the day on days I'm home. 
She also gets a meal of solids once a day- usually a puree. We're also tried egg a few times this month- and plenty of carby foods she can hold onto an gnaw- like bread, sweet potato fries etc. Also, she tried some chicken.

Standing up
Kins is still her favorite person 
She really likes wind blowing on her (she is SUPER sweaty)
DislikesSleeping alone. Getting stuck in a place she can't stand up/ crawl away from


Thursday, June 15, 2017